• BLUE PORT
    KIEL

    N 54° 19' E10° 8'

BLUE PORT KIEL.

Blue
 
Sea, sky, planet
 
Blue is the new Green
 
For us BLUE PORT KIEL
stands for the compatibility of
sustainability and performance


Shipping
Over 90 percent of world trade, almost 95 percent of the European Union’s foreign trade and nearly 70 percent of the German im- and export are realized by seatrade. Maritime transport does not only provide the most powerful means of transport in international exchange of goods, but also the most efficient one with respect to transport-related energy consumption and subsequent pollution.

Baltic Sea
Not least due to the declaration as an Emission Control Area (ECA) the Baltic Sea is one of the world’s cleanest navigated areas, alongside the coasts of the USA. The shipping companies have invested a lot of money into more efficient vessels and permanent emission reduction.

PORT OF KIEL
However, there is still room for improvement. We want to do our bit and become one of the flagship ports on the Baltic Sea. The port is continuing to grow. And this is advantageous in ecological terms as the shipping industry is the transport mode with the lowest emission of greenhouse gases, measured by the transport performance in ton kilometres.

 

CHALLENGE
Accepted.

We rise to the challenge of utilizing and developing the economic port in a sustainable manner in line with public interest. This includes climate protection, energy and resource efficiency and avoiding air and water pollution within the technical and economic limits.

Next to supporting external projects and incentive measures, we also do our own homework: acceptance of ships’ waste-water, installing shore-side electricity, using and testing electronic forklift trucks and tractors, eco-electricity, photovoltaics, E-Mobility and energyefficient lighting technology.

We offer our partners tariff incentives for environmentally-friendly technology in shipbuilding, an intelligent transport management system on the terminal as well as participates in pilot projects about alternative low-emission fuels.

Picture: Tom Körber

Take a deep breath

Is this possible in the port of Kiel? Definitely yes! The result of calculations and orienting air pollution measurements at Kiel's terminal facilities by the responsible State Agency for Agriculture, Environment and Rural Areas Schleswig-Holstein (LLUR) is that all short-term and long-term values of sulphur dioxide and nitrogen dioxide are significantly below the threshold values and the immission values for protecting human health.

Picture: AIDA Cruises

Fuel Future

Most ships have usually been equipped with diesel motors up to now. These need either marine diesel (MDO) or heavy fuel oil (HFO) when out at sea. In order to reduce emissions, scrubbers and catalysts are being installed. The shipping industry is at a turning point right now. Important trends are LNG, alcohol/diesel PTL, Methane PTG and fuel-cell drive. Also the shipping companies calling at the port of Kiel are working on versatile projects.

Picture: PORT OF KIEL

Waste-Water runs Blue

From the year 2021 all cruise ships – new ships from as early as 2019 indeed – must dispose of all their waste-water in port or respectively can only do so on board of the ship when regulatory standards are adhered to. A new solution had to be found. The company Unitechnics proved to be an innovative partner. Together with them PORT OF KIEL carried out extensive tests, identified the best process for treating the sewage of cruise ships and created new standards.

Picture: PORT OF KIEL

Shore Power Facility

Shore power supply is a reasonable way to avoid emissions during demurrage, especially for ships berthing in Kiel’s city port on a daily basis. In recent years, accurate technical plans for installations at the terminals Schwedenkai and Norwegenkai have been prepared, waiting for their implementation. Technical standards and developments in the cruise sector show that alternative fuels will prevail. Shore power technology can be an interim solution for them.

Picture: Tom Körber

Discount

Already since 2012 PORT OF KIEL offers an incentive for shipping companies to invest in propulsion and fuel systems that are as eco-friendly as possible: an environment-related reduction of the port charge. This incentive is based on the “Environmental Ship Index” (ESI), an international standard which enables the comparison of vessel emissions. The index provides information on the environmental performance of ships regarding air pollution through NOx, SOx and CO2.

Picture: Tom Körber

BLU.E-Mobility

The PORT OF KIEL is vigilant about the fuel consumption and emission values of its newly purchased cars. Since 2018, ten out of 50 fork lift trucks are operated by electricity. Also for RoRo handling electrically driven tractors and fork lifts are basically available on the market and have been tested by PORT OF KIEL. The share of E-cars amounts to 15 percent at present.

 

Picture: Marco Plundrich

Green Energy

For years, the PORT OF KIEL has been dealing with matters like power from renewable resouces, alternative energy generation, lighting technology conversion as well es energy efficiency and an energy management that supports climate protection in order to reduce emissions from port operations and climate-neutral energy consumption.

• BLUE PORT
    KIEL

    N 54° 19' E10° 8'

BLUE PORT KIEL.

Blau
 
Meer, Himmel, Planet
 
Blau ist das neue Grün
 
Für uns steht BLUE PORT KIEL
für die Vereinbarkeit von
Nachhaltigkeit und Leistung


Schifffahrt
Über 90 Prozent des Welthandels, fast 95 Prozent des Außenhandels der Europäischen Union und nahezu 70 Prozent des deutschen Im- und Exports werden über den Seeweg abgewickelt. Die Seeschifffahrt stellt nicht nur das leistungsfähigste Transportmittel im internationalen Warenaustausch dar, sondern in Bezug auf den transportbedingten Energieverbrauch und die damit verbundenen Umweltbelastungen auch das effizienteste.

Ostsee
Nicht zuletzt durch die Ausweisung als Emissionskontrollgebiet (ECA) ist die Ostsee – neben den Küsten der USA – eins der weltweit saubersten Fahrtgebiete überhaupt. Reedereien investierten in neue Technologien, um Schiffe noch effizienter zu machen und Emissionen dauerhaft zu reduzieren.

PORT OF KIEL
Trotzdem kann man alles noch besser machen. Auch wir wollen unseren Beitrag leisten und einer der Vorzeigehäfen an der Ostsee werden. Der Kieler Hafen wird weiter wachsen. Und dies ist ökologisch vorteilhaft, da die Schifffahrt – gemessen an der Transportleistung in Tonnenkilometern – der Verkehrsträger mit dem geringsten Ausstoß an Klimagasen ist.

 

HERAUSFORDERUNG
ANGENOMMEN.

Wir stellen uns der Herausforderung, die wirtschaftliche Nutzung des Hafens im Sinne des öffentlichen Interesses der Nachhaltigkeit zu erfüllen und weiterzuentwickeln. Hierzu gehören insbesondere Klimaschutz, Energie- und Ressourceneffizienz und die Vermeidung von Schadstoffen in Luft und Gewässer im Rahmen technischer und wirtschaftlicher Möglichkeiten.

Neben der Unterstützung von externen Projekten und Förderungsmaßnahmen, machen wir unsere Hausaufgaben: die Annahme von Schiffsabwässern, Bau einer Landstromanlage, der Einsatz und Praxistests von elektronischen Gabelstaplern und Zugmaschinen, Ökostrom, Fotovoltaik, Elektromobilität und energieeffiziente Beleuchtungstechnik.

Unseren Partnern bieten wir tarifliche Anreize für umweltfreundliche Techniken im Schiffbau, ein System zur intelligenten Steuerung von Verkehrsflüssen auf dem Terminal und beteiligen uns an Pilotprojekten für emissionsarme Alternativtreibstoffe.

Foto: Tom Körber

Tief Luft holen

Im Kieler Hafen möglich? Eindeutig ja! Nach Berechnungen und orientierenden Luftschadstoffmessungen im Bereich der Kieler Terminalanlagen kommt das zuständige Landesamt für Landwirtschaft, Umwelt und ländliche Räume zu dem Ergebnis, dass alle Kurz- und Langzeitwerte für SOx und NOx deutlich unter den geltenden Grenzwerten und den Immissionswerten zum Schutz der menschlichen Gesundheit liegen.

Bild: AIDA Cruises

Treibstoffe der Zukunft

Die meisten Schiffe sind zurzeit mit Dieselmotoren ausgestattet. Diese verwenden als Kraftstoffe entweder Marine-Diesel oder auf See Schweröl. Um Emissionen zu verringern, werden beispielsweise Scrubber und Katalysatoren eingebaut. Zurzeit befindet sich die Schifffahrtsindustrie in einer Wende. Wichtige Trends sind hier LNG, PTL-Diesel, PTG-Methane und Brennstoffzellenantriebe. Auch Kiel anlaufende Reedereien verfolgen vielseitige Projekte.

Foto: PORT OF KIEL

Schiffsabwässerbehandlung

Kreuzfahrtschiffe müssen ab 2021 – Neubauten bereits ab 2019 – ihre Abwässer vollständig in den Häfen abgeben oder unter Einhaltung strenger Grenzwerte an Bord klären. Eine neue Lösung musste her. Innovativer Partner hierbei war Unitechnics, mit dem der PORT OF KIEL umfangreiche Tests durchführte, das beste Bearbeitungsverfahren zur Abwasserbehandlung herausfand und einen neuen Standard schuf.

Foto: PORT OF KIEL

Landstromanlagen

Landstrom ist für die die Kieler Innenstadt täglich anlaufenden Fährschiffe ein sinnvoller Weg, um Emissionen während der Liegezeit zu vermeiden. In den vergangenen Jahren wurden hierzu umsetzungsfähige technische Planungen für die Ausrüstung von Schwedenkai und Norwegenkai vorbereitet, die auf ihre Realisierung warten. Landstromtechnik kann für Kreuzfahrer eine Übergangslösung sein.

Foto: Tom Körber

Umweltrabatt

Um einen Anreiz für Reeder zu schaffen, in möglichst umweltfreundliche Antriebe und Treibstoffe zu investieren, bietet der PORT OF KIEL schon seit 2012 einen Umweltrabatt auf das Hafengeld. Bemessungsgrundlage dieses Umweltanreizes ist der „ESI“ (Environmental Ship Index). Dieser soll als internationaler Standard Schiffsemissionen vergleichbar machen. Der Index gibt Auskunft über die Umweltleistung von Schiffen, was luftverunreinigende Emissionen (NOx, SOx und CO2) anbelangt.

Foto: Tom Körber

BLU.E-Mobilität

Der PORT OF KIEL achtet bei der Neuanschaffung von Fahrzeugen darauf, dass diese möglichst wenig Treibstoff verbrauchen beziehungsweise gute Emissionswerte aufweisen. Seit 2018 werden bei der Stauerei zehn von 50 Gabelstaplern elektrisch betrieben. Auch für den RoRo-Schiffsumschlag von rollenden Ladungseinheiten sind elektrisch betriebene Zugmaschinen und Elektrostapler grundsätzlich am Markt verfügbar und wurden beim PORT OF KIEL getestet. Der Anteil der Elektro-Pkw liegt derzeit bei 15 Prozent.

Foto: Marco Plundrich

Grüne Energie

Strom aus erneuerbaren Energien, alternative Energieerzeugung, Umstellung der Beleuchtungstechnik sowie Energieeffizienz und klimaschutzorientiertes Energiemanagement sind Themen, mit denen der PORT OF KIEL sich seit Jahren zur Reduzierung der Emissionen aus hafenbetrieblichen Aktivitäten und klimaneutralem Energiebezug auseinandersetzt.